Contact Montgomery County Council Members to Appeal Court Decision On Healthy Lawns Act!

Lower Court judge overturns Healthy Lawns Act, denying residents in Montgomery County, MD the right to protect ourselves from harmful lawn pesticides.
 
WE NEED YOU to Call/Email the councilmembers and urge them to file an appeal before the 30 day deadline runs out (Sept 2).
 
We are urging our Council to appeal and defend the county from state preemption.
We know we have a strong case, but this has been a David v. Goliath situation from Day 1.

 
You have been steadfast in your support for our campaign for safer lawns in Montgomery County.  In 2015 the Mo Co Council passed the Healthy Lawns Act, 52-14, to restrict the cosmetic use of lawn pesticides on public & private property. Our parks are now safer for kids and pets (and grownups) because of this law BUT the pesticide lobbysists and some local lawn care companies, along with Scotts & TruGreen, challenged the private property provision. The lower court judge, Terrence McGann, agreed with them, and denied the county the right to pass a law that offers more protections for residents and environmental health than the state.  Now a million residents will be negatively impacted by one judge's decision.
 
Contact information for each councilmember is below and a brief message you can use:

Subject: APPEAL Ruling for Lawn Pesticide Ordinance 52-14

Contact Information:

County Executive Ike Leggett
240-777-2500ocemail@montgomerycountymd.gov 

Council President Roger Berliner
240-777-7828
Councilmember.Berliner@montgomerycountymd.gov

Council Vice President Hans Riemer
240-777-7964
Councilmember.Riemer@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Marc Elrich

240-777-7966
Councilmember.Elrich@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Nancy Floreen
240-777-7959
Councilmember.Floreen@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Tom Hucker
240-777-7960
Councilmember.Hucker@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Sidney Katz

240-777-7906
Councilmember.Katz@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember George Leventhal
240-777-7811
Councilmember.Leventhal@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Nancy Navarro
240-777-7968
Councilmember.Navarro@montgomerycountymd.gov

Councilmember Craig Rice
240-777-7955
Councilmember.Rice@montgomerycountymd.gov